Classical Music and Opera

The Hallé

Fri 25th Oct 2019 7.30pm
The Hallé

KODÁLY Dances of Galánta

BRUCH Violin Concerto No.1

BRAHMS Symphony No.1

Jamie Phillips conductor | Simone Lamsma violin

Gifted with innate musicality, Jamie Phillips opens this concert with Kodály’s lively Dances of Galánta, a work that recalls the composer’s youth and immortalises the small Hungarian market town which once boasted a famous gypsy band. At the heart of the concert is a Romantic showpiece, Bruch’s First Violin Concerto, with its wonderful introduction, meltingly beautiful Adagio and breath-taking finale. It’s played by the Dutch violinist, Simone Lamsma, who has rapidly established herself as one of the most sought-after soloists on the circuit. Brahms struggled as he wrote his First Symphony, a process that took some nineteen years, though it was well worth the wait. This uplifting masterpiece established him as the true heir and successor of his great hero Beethoven.

Pre-concert talk: Jamie Phillips in conversation.  The talk will commence on the raked seating at 6.30pm.  Tickets cost £3 and include a complimentary drink.



The venue reserves the right to charge an administration fee for tickets purchased via the box office.

Age Guidance: U16s must be accompanied by an adult

On sale date: Friday 14th June 2019 at 10am


Friday 25th October
Start: 7.30pm
Pay On
* Subject to availability


Concert Hall - Raked

Ticket Prices

  • Single Concert Ticket from£18
  • Single Concert Concession from £16
  • Student ticket from £3
  • Part season – 3 concerts£48
  • Part season – 4 concerts£61
  • Full Subscruiption from£72
  • A transaction fee will be charged per booking for single concert purchases.

What are booking fees?